About => Location
About Van Wyksdorp


The Klein Karoo is the smaller of the two Karoo sub-regions. Geographically it is a fertile valley (bounded on the north by the Swartberg Mountain range, and on the south by the Langeberg Mountains and Outeniqua mountains). Although the boundaries of the region are not strictly defined, most people consider the western limit of the Klein Karoo to be in the region of Barrydale and the eastern boundary around Uniondale.

The main town of the region is Oudtshoorn. Other towns in the region include Ladismith, Calitzdorp, De Rust,and well-known mission stations such as Zoar, Amalienstein, Barrydale and Dysselsdorp.

The fossil-rich terrain of the Karoo has some of the most important archaeological sites in the world particularly near Beaufort West and Nelspoort where stone-age sites and Bushmen engravings have been found. The region also boasts over 9000 plant species. The Karoo National Park is home to the endangered black rhinoceros, quagga and riverine rabbit. Birdlife is prolific and raptors can be seen hovering over the plains in search of prey.

The Karoo has a magic that cannot be described, but has to be experienced. It is a place of quiet repose, of replenishment and of inner peace. It is a place that has inspired poets, artists, authors and photographers throughout the centuries.

Accommodation ranges from Hotels, Guest Houses, Game Lodges, B&B's, backpackers, camping and caravan sites and self-catering.

Vanwyksdorp.com - The Big Heart of the Little Karoo, South Africa

© 2013 - 2016| VANWYKSDORP | GOURITZ - KANNALAND REGION | SOUTH AFRICA | www.vanwyksdorp.com